Our Organization and Mission

Truthout is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to providing independent news and commentary on a daily basis. Truthout works to spark action by revealing systemic injustice and providing a platform for transformative ideas, through in-depth investigative reporting and critical analysis. With a powerful, independent voice, we will spur the revolution in consciousness and inspire the direct action that is necessary to save the planet and humanity.

Editorial Independence Policy

In order to remain free of bias and adhere to high editorial standards, Truthout accepts no advertising or corporate backing. Instead, we depend on our readers, and a handful of foundations who support our mission, to make our work possible: Donations from individual readers have accounted for an average 81 percent of our annual budget over the last five years. Readers and foundations who donate to Truthout do so in their knowledge that our editorial principles and judgment are in no way influenced by those donations — they support us not in spite of the fact that we scrupulously maintain our editorial independence (even when it comes to our largest contributors), but because of that integrity.

Donor Transparency and Privacy Policy

Truthout respects the privacy of our readers and supporters and will never share personal contact information with third parties. For transparency, donors and foundations who give $500 or more in a year are listed, with their approval, in our annual report each year. We also report contributions totaling $5,000 or more to the IRS.

Financial Information

Truthout is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization #20-0031641. Your donation is tax deductible to the extent allowable by law. To donate to Truthout, click here.

For more information about our model and how we utilize our resources, please read Truthout’s annual report for fiscal year 2016. (The annual report for FY 2017 will be forthcoming in September 2018.) You can also view past annual reports:

FY 2015
FY 2014
FY 2013
FY 2012
FY 2011

Our recent 990s can be found here:



Editor-in-Chief: Maya Schenwar
Managing Director: Ziggy West Jeffery

Content Relations Editor: Alana Yu-lan Price
Managing Editor, BuzzFlash: Mark Karlin
Senior Editor and Lead Columnist: William Rivers Pitt
Editor: Britney Schultz
Editor/Staff Reporter: Candice Bernd
Staff Reporters: Dahr Jamail, Mike Ludwig
Creative Director: Jared Rodriguez
Designer/Photo Editor: Lauren Walker
Associate Editors: Samantha Borek, Cherise Morris
Copy Editor: Merula Furtado
Editor/Copy Editor: Anton Woronczuk

Development Director: Anna Sutton
Administrative Manager: Annie Stoddard
Financial Administrator: Kendel Gordon
Community Liaison: Joseph Peterson
Social Media Manager, Contributing Writer: Kelly Hayes
Marketing Manager: Sophie Moon
Development Associate: Helga Edström

Website Development: R Scott LaMorte, Takahiro Noguchi

Contributing Writers

Dirk Adriaensens, Nafeez Ahmed, Musa al-Gharbi, Randall Amster, William C. Anderson, Angola 3 News, Roger Annis, Ted Asregadoo, William J. Astore, William Ayers, Salvatore Babones, Eleanor J. Bader, Dean Baker, Pam Bailey, Nora Barrows-Friedman, Tom Barry, Beverly Bell, Jessica Bernstein, Renata Bessi, Adam Bessie, Keane Bhatt, Darwin BondGraham, Marion Brady, Jeremy Brecher, Ellen Brown, Bryan K. Bullock, Shahid Buttar, Ellen Cantarow, Aaron Cantú, Ira Chernus, Thandisizwe Chimurenga, Noam Chomsky, Jeff Cohen, Marjorie Cohn, Victoria Collier, Shamus Cooke, Jason Coppola, Michael Corcoran, Lawrence Davidson, Ellen Dannin, Simon Davis-Cohen, Susie Day, Amy Dean, Anthony DiMaggio, Peter Dreier, Roger Drouin, Max Eternity, Laura Flanders, Alison Flowers, Margaret Flowers, Harriet Fraad, Henry A. Giroux, Jesse Hagopian, Tom H. Hastings, Ryan Harvey, Maryam Henein, Steve Horn, Adam Hudson, H. Patricia Hynes, Sarah Jaffe, Dave Johnson, Mara Kardas-Nelson, Kathy Kelly, Rania Khalek, James Kilgore, Katie Klabusich, Sam Knight, Andalusia Knoll, David Krieger, George Lakoff, Victoria Law, Tanya H. Lee, Wilmer J. Leon III, Jon Letman, Bruce E. Levine, Mike Lofgren, John Logan, Sarah Macaraeg, Bethania Palma Markus, Niall McLaren, Peter McLaren, Bruce Melton, Toshio Meronek, Michael Meurer, Brian Moench, Anne Elizabeth Moore, Nick Mottern, Bill Moyers, Robert Naiman, Santiago Navarro F., Michael I. Niman, Tolu Olorunda, David Palumbo-Liu, John Pilger, C.J. Polychroniou, Gareth Porter, Nicholas Powers, Ben Ptashnik, Bill Quigley, Raven Rakia, Jeff Ritterman, William I. Robinson, Phil Rockstroh, Roberto Rodriguez, Sarah Rosenblatt, Richard Sale, Erika L. Sánchez, Abby Scher, JP Sottile, Richard Smith, Rachel Smolker, Josmar Trujillo, Eisa Nefertari Ulen, Evaggelos Vallianatos, Mark Weisbrot, Chris Williams, Christopher Williams, Lawrence S. Wittner, Michael Winship, Ali Winston, Richard D. Wolff and Kevin Zeese.

Board of Directors

President: Robert Naiman
Members: Henry A. Giroux, Lewis Gordon

Board of Advisers

William Ayers, Dean Baker, Beverly Bell, Scott Blau, Cynthia Boaz, Alan Breslauer, Rinaldo Brutoco, Julian Casablancas, Marjorie Cohn, Jodie Evans, Jaclyn Friedman, Jeff Haas, George Lakoff, Bryan Lockwood, Anne Elizabeth Moore, Nell Painter, Richard Power, Roberto Rodriguez, Mark Ruffalo, Graham Ryan, T.M. Scruggs, Mariesa Sun-Saenz, Leslie Thatcher, Mark Weisbrot and Richard D. Wolff.

United Media Guild Top Rated Nonprofit Valued Partner: GuideStar Exchange