Skip to content Skip to footer

Rainey Reitman

Rainey Reitman serves as director of the activism team at the Electronic Frontier Foundation. She is particularly interested in the intersection between personal privacy and technology, particularly social networking privacy, network security, web tracking, government surveillance and online data brokers. She also works on issues related to financial censorship, free speech and software patents.

Reitman is the chief operating officer and cofounder of the Freedom of the Press Foundation, a nonprofit organization that defends and supports unique, independent, nonprofit journalistic institutions. She, along with cofounders Daniel Ellsberg, Trevor Timm and J.P. Barlow, received the 2013 Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Award in Journalism.